OKLAHOMA HORSE RACING COMMISSION

TRAINERS TEST REQUIREMENTS

IMPORTANT

Applicants for a Trainer, Assistant Trainer, Owner/Trainer or Owner/Assistant Trainer license must be approved by an Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission (OHRC) Steward prior to licensure.

An OHRC Steward, or the Commission, may require the applicant to take and pass a Trainers test prior to issuance of that license.

Applicants may be required to furnish two (2) letters of recommendation from licensed trainers prior to taking the test.

THE TEST

The first part of the test consists of written questions on provisions of the Oklahoma Horse Racing Act and Commission Pari-Mutuel <u>Rules of Racing</u>, as well as items pertaining to breed registries, the Oklahoma-Bred Program and other pertinent horse physiology and training knowledge. A passing score on this part of the test is 80 percent. The second part is a hands-on barn test which may be required by the Stewards.

RE-TESTING

If an applicant fails the test, s/he may re-test 30 days after the original test was administered. If the applicant fails the second time, s/he may re-test six (6) months after they fail the second test. An applicant cannot take the Trainer's test more than three times in any consecutive twelve (12) month period.

Re-testing is required to be taken at the same racetrack where the applicant failed the previous test, unless the testing Steward authorizes the applicant to be re-tested at another racetrack.

REMEMBER

The licensing procedures required by the Commission for all participants must be completed prior to starting the horse and shall include all registrations, statements and payment of fees.

CONTACT INFORMATION

The Trainers test is administered only at OHRC-licensed racetracks. Trainer applicants should contact the OHRC Board of Stewards at a racetrack regarding further testing requirements, and to schedule an appointment for testing. *The Trainers test is not given at the Oklahoma City Commission home office. Inquiries should be directed to:*

Remington Park OHRC License Office	(405) 419-4441
Remington Park OHRC Stewards Office	(405) 419-4440
Will Rogers Downs OHRC License Office (Seasonal Office)	. (918) 283-8889
Fair Meadows OHRC License Office (Seasonal Office)	. (918) 376-6087